Get Adobe Flash player
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on
Newsletter

 

 

Defensive Pistol (Introduction)

Take a short survey and send us some feedback — your help is appreciated.

Register here

This class is limited to eight attendees and costs $115.00 and is geared toward students with some shooting experience or who have completed the NRA Basic Pistol course.

See here for an example of one of the drills covered in this course.

This four-hour Introduction to Defensive Pistol course will introduce students to defensive and competitive styles of shooting and is recommended for students looking to continue their firearms education and is an ideal supplement for the NRA Basic Pistol Course or the Illinois CCW course.

Course material will cover several case studies and focus on how to efficiently draw and shoot from a holster with topics on defensive theory, ammunition choices, reloading, and stoppages with a heavy emphasis on safety throughout the entire course.

The course will end with live fire practice designed to prepare students for the qualification course required by Insight Defense Concept’s Illinois CCW course.

Note that this course does not qualify students to receive a Concealed Carry Permit, however it does offer an excellent supplement for students interested in gaining an Illinois CCW permit.

The following applies:

  • Students must be 21 unless accompanied by an adult for the entire course.
  • Students must provide their own firearm with a minimum of two magazines.
  • Students must provide a inside or outside the waistband holster and magazine pouch capable of holding two magazines.
  • Students must provide a minimum of 200 rounds of quality ammunition; we strongly recommend purchasing your ammunition in advance.
Note that .25 and .32 caliber firearms are not permitted.
No live ammunition is allowed in the classroom.

For any questions, please consult any staff member, or send us an email — we typically respond to inquiries within one business day.

Register for a class

This class is only available for registration online and there are no refunds once the course has been purchased. Students are required to give 72 hours advance notice when rescheduling a course in order to avoid incurring additional costs. Classes may be rescheduled up to 3 times or 90 days.

December 2017

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

January 2018

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Download PDF